Two Minute Chocolate Cake and Milk Brewed Coffee

Tonight we went to a lovely, healthy dinner to celebrate my friend Kelly’s finishing or her olympic marathon trial. i’m amazed that I know someone who’s actually in the running (Get it? Ok I don’t even make myself laugh.) for the olympics, but to get back to the more important matter, the dinner was very healthy, which I love. Her fiance worked with *17, the restaurant for Alden Hotel, for a delicious and healthy dinner. While I enjoyed the salad and pasta, the dessert was a huge disappointment. We were offered the choice of fruit or cake and, uhhh duh, I picked cake.

Cake. That’s what I was expecting. The menu said “desserts are not cream based” but I’ve enjoyed plenty of vegan desserts in the past so I was still optimistic. What we ended up getting was more of a muffin, and a hard one at that. Made with real sugar. If I’m going to eat a vegan, none cream-based dessert, what is the point of using real sugar, which makes up for a significant portion of calories? I came home determined to make a low-calorie, sugar-free dessert.

Not to blow my own horn, but toot toot! My dessert was the same portion, 115 calories, and tasted a million times better. And I made it in the microwave in two minutes. WHAT.

I’m going to get on my soapbox for a minute (by the way, do you like how the intro to this recipe is ten times longer than the recipe itself?) and say that I’ve gotten a lot of flack for making healthy desserts. And last weekend, I learned that I’m actually better at baking healthy than “regular” desserts. I made a chocolate babke, Asian mini butter buns, and pan de queso. The babke was yummy but took way too fucking long, the mini butter buns didn’t fluff up, and the pan de queso were so hard that they were like ninja muffins I could throw at burglers (my fault, I ran out of cornstarch so subbed rice flour—bad idea). What was my point…oh yes. I’d rather eat yummy, not as rich, and a fraction of the calorie desserts than ok dessert that are 1000 calories. If I’m going to eat a “real” dessert, they better be damn good.

And this chocolate cake was pretty damn good. And healthy.

Try it.

Adapted from Babble

Two Minute Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:

2 tbsp bread flour (for the fluffiest result, use bread or self rising flour. If you want to be really healthy, I’m sure whole wheat or spelt flour would work just fine.)
2 tbsp cocoa powder
6 packets of splenda
2 tbsp unsweetened apple sauce, mashed banana, or pumpkin puree
2 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
1/4 cup egg white or egg beater

Method:

Mix all ingredients together in a small mug or ramekin, whisk together well with a fork. Lick fork clean and make sure it’s as sweet as you want it, or else add another packet of splenda or more. Heat in microwave for 1-2 minutes.

This was really fluffy and yummy. I almost always am in the mood for chocolate sheet cake, and this is so easy to make. I love eating it right out of the microwave, all warm and gooey. And guess what. It’s even better with some milk brewed coffee. WHAT!

Milk Brewed Coffee

Ingredients:

1 cup almond milk

1 cup water

5 heaping tbsp ground coffee

Method:

Heat milk and water on the stove until it simmers. Pour into french press with the coffee grounds. Stir and put the french press cover on. Let it seep for four minutes. Stir coffee with wooden spoon, press the cover down, pour into mug.

2 thoughts on “Two Minute Chocolate Cake and Milk Brewed Coffee

  1. AH-MAZING! That choco dessert looks so yummy!!!!

  2. amychien says:

    Thanks! Yay!!!

Leave a Reply

