Donut Holes

I needed some awesome dessert to follow up my corn pizza victory and Shipley’s has been giving me the side eye lately, so I decided to make donuts! Well…donut holes. I put donut pans on my amazon wishlist for Christmas but no one got them for me…ahem…so I used mini muffin pans and pretended they were donut holes. If you’ve met me, you know that I’m absolutely obsessed with donuts. Dunkin donuts, in particular, but really I’m a donut slut so I’ll take whatever I can get, even those powder sugar donettes you find at gas stations, you know, the kind that makes you look like a  total cokehead if you forget to hold your breath when you eat them.

I know you love those too. Don’t even lie.

Anyway, the donuts I’m about to share with you were super fluffy and of course 100 times healthier than regular donuts. I was truly surprised at how good they are. And by the time I ate them I wasn’t even that drunk anymore, so my judgement was most likely accurate, although when I’m drunk I usually never think I’m drunk so you never know. The only way to be sure is for you to make them while sober (or not!) and let me know what you think.

Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

2/3 cup almond milk

10 packets of splenda

3 tbsp of sugar

1/2 tsp apple-cider vinegar

1 and 1/2 tsp eggbeater or egg white

1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder

3 tbsp pureed pumpkin (or applesauce, mashed banana, or vegetable oil)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine dry ingredients in one bowl, then oil, milk, and vanilla in another bowl. Then add the vinegar to the milk mixture and immediately pour wet onto dry. Mix (but don’t overmix), pour into greased muffin/donut pan, and bake for 12 minutes.

These are great as is, but if you want a glaze, I took  2 tbsp almond milk+1 tsp powdered sugar, mix thoroughly, dip donut holes lightly, and give that sprinkles bottle some good shakes! I imagine it would also be delightful to dip them in a cinnamon sugar mix…

Makes 18 donut holes at 35 calories/hole, or 6 regular sized donuts at 100 calories/donut.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

